Of Iron & Wine

Lately Iron & Wine has been the soundtrack to my life. I played their Our Endless Numbered Days album on repeat in my car, I got ready to the music, it was the background of my being. Their harmonies are at a level of perfection that pulls you in until the next thing you know you’re starting over the album from the beginning. Each song is beautiful and even if you are craving a certain song later on the CD, you can’t get yourself to skip the current track, or the one after that, or the one after that.

The song Cinder and Smoke, which I mentioned recently in a different post, is the video I have placed above. The lyrics are poetry, the harmonies are soothing, and the strings are simple and elegant. It’s the kind of song where I both understand it and don’t understand, at the same time. What I mean by that is I feel it, the song brings a vibe to the room that you can’t ignore, a sort of stillness. The words are not foreign, but they are poetry. Thus I understand and I don’t, all at once. Like Gertrude Stein said, “If you enjoy it, you understand it, and lots of people have enjoyed it, so lots of people have understood it.”

Iron & Wine make me feel like I’m in a movie, like I’m watching myself on-screen and they are the soundtrack to the current scene. Moments like that put my creative writer mind on hyper drive, writing everything around me in my mind. Describing the trees, weather, how connected I feel to the Earth around me, the sound of the wheels against the pavement, the rain bouncing off the umbrella, the bird crying out for its mate, the way the head lights radiate through the fog, etc.

I love those moments, they help me keep my sanity while fueling my creative side.

I want to observe everything, write everything, feel everything.

Express your feelings below :)

