Of Save the Words

Save the Words screenshot

Click image to view source

I’m officially bummed.

Several months ago my friend mentioned in passing a website entitled Save the Words. A dream site, especially for anyone who has ever said, “Nice word choice,” and meant it. Then, about fifteen minutes ago, I suddenly remembered her telling me of words crying out for us to save them and the option of adopting a word. It sounded glorious.

I regret to inform you that Save the Words.org is now a blank website. After trying various programs (Explorer, Firefox, Chrome) I have come to find that the website is extinct. I even checked the source, which revealed that there was no hidden code. In fact, there’s no HTML code at all. This is why I’m sad.

Now I’m scrapping my brain, trying to remember words that are starting to fade out. A few come to mind, almost all of which are 90s slang and are heard in old hip-hop music:

  • Rump
  • Scrub
  • Baller
  • Boo ya
  • Jiggy
  • It’s your birthday
  • Bust it
  • Da bomb
  • Groovy
  • Bitchin
I really wish I could think of “smart” words to add to the list. Can anyone else remember other words that are dying out?
2 thoughts on “Of Save the Words

  1. Ha, but not in a serious way. And I have never heard you say any of these words unless you’re singing along to 90s music. You say things like boo, nom, hella, fine. Slang is constantly changing, that’s what’s interesting.

  2. Dude…these are not dying out. Wtf are you talking about? I say these all the time. I don’t think there are any words that are fading. And if that’s possible, then they will always show up again in about five years or so. No worries!

Express your feelings below :)

