Of a One-Track Mind

Now, based off the title a lot of people are going to assume the following words are going to revolve around sex. It’s understandable, but not what this is about. Sorry. I’ll talk about sex later – I promise.

This

Girl doing Homework

Click image to view source.

Versus

Supernatural Screenshot

Click image to view source.

Number Two is the Winner!

A one-track mind is a blessing and a curse. Say I need to get my clean on, an assignment is due in twenty minutes, or crashing the car is not an option. In all these cases having a highly focused mind on one activity is positive, preferable even. I’m afraid that the negatives tend to out way the good, at least currently in my life.

Lately my brain will be focused on one of the two tracks that most frequent my thinking-sphere: success and entertainment. Unfortunately these two trains never seem to be able to occupy my mind at the same time.

When I get on a success kick it’s literally all I care about. I don’t want to hear about your petty boy problems, listen to tales of your children, or even what you’re making for dinner. The only thing that concerns me is not failing at life (I have many a friend that can testify to this). I go heavy into research mode searching for internships, entry-level positions, and jobs for after graduation. I hoard hours at work, beg people to give me shifts and refusing to leave if they try to cut me early. Basically, my resume and money is what matters.

Now, if I could maintain the success kick I would be in a great place, career wise. However, a need to giggle with friends, dance, and be merry eventually creeps up and knocks my success train off the tracks, temporarily. This is where the need for entertainment takes over. I lose my drive regarding school work, I hang out with friends more than usual, suddenly have a dating life, and watch way too much TV. Everyone knows I love television, hell I better considering I want to work in television. When the need for entertainment takes over it’s not just watching anything and everything or never being home. I get engrossed into one particular show, and I usually hang out in the evening with other living beings.

As I said, one-track mind. This time around it’s Supernatural, I’ve been watching that show pretty much whenever I’m not at work. When it’s time to be focused and do homework (i.e. succeed at life) I find myself watching Supernatural while playing four-suit spider solitaire. It’s an amazing show, clever, well-written, and way more interesting than what I’m supposed to be doing. In fact, it’s the type of show I would love to be a part of creating.

Try as I might, it’s not easy to force myself onto the success train till graduation. Somehow I get my work done. Miraculous.

Supernatural gif image

Click image to view source

2 thoughts on “Of a One-Track Mind

Express your feelings below :)

