Of Coins

Pennies

Click image to view source.

My name is Sarah, and I’m not a penny hater.

People hate coins. Copper crap. Silver shit. Gold garbage – all nicknames given to our money. Ultimately, a lot of people who I know try to avoid coins by paying in exact change or leaving excess coinage in a tip jar. Most of the folks that I come across loathe coins because they way down their wallet. It’s too heavy, they say. My pocket/purse gets too bulky, they whine. But very few complain because of the reality that it costs more to make a penny than a penny is worth. The poor dears simply find coins inconvenient.

Even though I know that John Green (from the video above is right). I still don’t hate coins. Sorry John. As far as I’m concerned until pennies become discontinued I will happily keep them. Because it’s still money! That’s something I’ve never understood, coins are still money yet people think of them like they’re gravel.

Coins are often treated like the free coffee available at rest areas along the freeway, whereas a bill is an espresso – but guess what? It’s still coffee, and sometimes, you need that free coffee so you don’t fall asleep and swerve off the road.

I’ve had people hand me their change of 98 cents because they can’t tolerate circular money. I’ve seen several customers reject their 75 cent change. I know a lot of people who keep coins in large jars and decorate with them instead of investing. Recently I took all the change that I’ve acquired over the past few months (mostly pennies), rolled it up, and deposited $26 worth of coins at the bank. And guess what? They accepted it! It’s true that pennies aren’t cost efficient in terms of their creation, but I was able to fill up on gas with them, for that I’m grateful.

So yeah, I don’t hate quarters, nickels, and dimes – not even pennies.

Maybe I will when I’m no longer a starving recent college grad and can afford to whine over a heavy purse. I’d rather complain over the politics behind creating coins in the first place, that is, if I were to join Team Coins Suck. But I’m still too poor to properly care about the issue. So for now, if digging through a pile of coins is what allows me to buy my vanilla latte in the morning, so be it.

Coin Jar

Click to view source.

3 thoughts on “Of Coins

  1. “Bacteria infested discs of suck” is by far my favourite line in that video.
    I’m a member Team Pro Coin, but I’m in a very similar situation to yourself – I use small denomination coins (of which there are many in the UK –forgive me but I can’t remember where you write from– ranging from 1p to 50p) at self-service checkouts at supermarkets. Great way to afford an extra bit of chocolate to make you feel better about being poor!

Express your feelings below :)

