Of Going Out Alone

Perks of Being a Wallflower - Alone Gif

Click image to view source.

There’s a handful of activities where when people go by themselves the rest of the world assumes that they are lonely or have no friends. Such as shopping, movies, restaurants, sporting events, concerts, cruises, weddings, plays, etc.

I understand the fear of a social stigma. No one desires to be the awkward person standing around without anyone to keep them company. Forced to pretend that they’re having a really intense texting conversation, absolutely fascinated by the scenery, or looking around for their “friend” but they can’t seem to find them anywhere!

Personally, I like going to the movies by myself. After all, it’s not like you’re going to talk to each other during the film anyways.

I also enjoy shopping all on my own. Especially if I’m not looking for anything in particular. I don’t need someone to tell me if what I’m trying on looks good. I have a very strict policy of, “If you don’t absolutely love it, don’t buy it. If there’s any hesitation, don’t buy it.”

I don’t even mind going to a play/musical solo. If I want to see a show, but no one is able to go with me, I’m still going to see the show. Simple as that. I’m not going to let something like friends stand in the way of live theater. I’ll just bring my pocket-sized Sudoku book for intermission.

Now off course I prefer if someone is able to tag along. And there are plenty of places I would not want to go without a date or friend – if I had a choice. For everyone is bound to fall victim to feeling alone at some point. Except with shopping – I really do like to shop by myself.

 

Express your feelings below :)

