Of Tuesday Tunes – Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy by Pentatonix

It’s no secret I’m a hardcore fangirl of Pentatonix. I’ve loved them since their debut on The Sing Off, I’ve seen them live 3 times (so far), and they just keep getting better. The whole That’s Christmas to Me album is spectacular, but the stand out number is their arrangement of Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy.

It’s incredibly intricate and dynamic. They took an iconic song, made it their own, and stayed true to what made the song awesome in the first place. I may not have been a Choir Nerd but I was a Band Geek, so I couldn’t help but have the goofiest smile on my face when I first heard the subtle crescendos, bell-like staccatos, and the swell that leads to Mitch’s high note.

The music video is like a dark light show with a touch of humor. Prepare to hit the repeat button.

Favorite lyric: “Not applicable as there are no words :)”

Express your feelings below :)

