Of Tuesday Tunes – Run by Nicole Scherzinger

My song of the week is Run by Nicole Scherzinger.

This song is quite different from the club pop anthems that most associate with the former Pussycat Doll.

Run is simple, slow, raw, and powerful. But most of all – it’s sad. The first time I heard the song, I had chills before she even started singing. Her quick exhale sent shivers throughout my body and I thought, “This is going to be depressing, but in the best possible way,” and I was right.

I’ve come across people who think that if a song, movie, book, or tv show is sad then it’s not good. I’ve never understood that, to me if it makes you feel something, even if only slightly, then it’s worth paying attention to. This song pulls at my heartstrings and I love it for that.

I decided not to post the music video because it’s essentially her writhing around on the floor the whole time, which takes away from the emotion of the song. So please enjoy the audio:

Favorite lyric: “But you’ll get lost in the challenge, of trying not to get hurt, here’s advice for the next one, run”

Express your feelings below :)

