Of Tuesday Tunes- Cruel Ft. Julie Thompson by PYRAMID (SKisM Remix)

My song of the week is Cruel featuring Julie Thompson by PYRAMID (SKisM Remix).

I’ve been rocking out to this song for the past week, especially when hoop dancing. The song is both dramatic and melodic, which allows for a lot of fun. It follows the typical dubstep remix formula, but it’s done incredibly well.

I’ve found that remix artists often fall into one of two categories:

  1. They have WAY too much going on, and unless your one of those slam dancers there’s not really much to grab onto. The song is pure chaos, which I’m sure is sometimes the goal – it’s just not my cup of tea.
  2. I can hear what they’re attempting whether it’s a club, liquid, or house remix. But there’s just something off. Usually this is because they aren’t timing the pauses, drops, and kicks quite right. So the song sounds sloppy.

I’m very picky about what makes a good remix, and this one made my admittedly short list.

Cruel has the perfect balance of the original track and SKisM’s vision that allows the listener or dancer to feel the waves of the song. To really get into it and express themselves. I love hoop dancing to this song and I’m certain I would love blues/fusion dancing to it as well.

Favorite Lyric: “I ain’t gonna move to your melody.”

Express your feelings below :)

